Our school division

Every day counts in Chesterfield County Public Schools! This award-winning school system with a vision for the future is preparing every student to adapt and thrive in a rapidly changing world. Chesterfield County Public Schools embraces three big ideas based on national best practices and cutting-edge research to provide an engaging and relevant education:

  • blended learning, which combines technology with face-to-face instruction and leads to anytime, anywhere learning
  • project-based learning, which promotes problem solving, collaboration and communication
  • service learning, which connects students with the community

These big ideas are the bedrock of the Design for Excellence 2020, the strategic plan of Chesterfield County Public Schools. Blended learning, project-based learning and service learning are helping students achieve these goals:

Goal 1 — All learners will acquire, analyze, synthesize and evaluate information to solve meaningful problems and to achieve success as productive, thriving global citizens.

Goal 2 — All learners will demonstrate the 21st-century learning and technology skills and knowledge that will prepare them for success in school, postsecondary education, work and life in a global society.

Goal 3 — Working in partnership with school and family, all learners will understand, model and embrace the important attitudes and attributes necessary to be responsible global citizens.

Fast facts

  • More than 58,000 students attend 63 schools: 38 elementary schools (grades K-5), 12 middle schools (grades 6-8), 11 high schools (grades 9-12), which include 12 specialty centers, and two technical centers.
  • $567 million operating budget (70 percent for instruction, 11 percent for operations and maintenance, 8 percent for debt, 6 percent for transportation, 3 percent for administration, attendance and health and 2 percent for technology)
  • $9,672 cost per student
  • 7,119 full-time and part-time positions in operating fund
  • 36 percent of students qualify for free or reduced-price meals.
  • The student body is 54.31 percent white, 26.27 percent black, 11.54 percent Hispanic, 3.65 percent Asian/Hawaiian/Pacific islander, 3.96 percent two or more races and 0.26 percent American Indian/Alaskan native (2013-14 statistic)

Reputation for success

The reputation of the public schools often inspires families to live in Chesterfield County. But don’t just take our word for it: SchoolMatch consistently rates Chesterfield County Public Schools as having precisely the balance parents seek. Chesterfield residents say they are happy with their choice: In a 2010 survey, nearly 86 percent of residents rated Chesterfield schools as excellent or good. Is it any wonder that for the sixth time Chesterfield was named one of the 100 Best Communities for Young People by America’s Promise Alliance?

Reports consistently prove that Chesterfield schools are efficient and effective. Based on student enrollment, Chesterfield is among the country’s 100 largest school systems but still keeps costs low. A 2010 efficiency audit found Chesterfield County Public Schools to be “a very well-run school division” operating at 99.3 percent efficiency.

Here are a few highlights of public education in Chesterfield:

  • In September 2014, Chesterfield County Public Schools will provide about 14,000 Chromebooks to middle school students. In addition to using the computers throughout the school day, students will take them home so they can learn anytime, anywhere. After high school students receive Chromebooks in the fall of 2015, this blended learning initiative will have placed 32,000 Chromebooks into the hands and homes of Chesterfield County students.
  • Chesterfield makes attracting and retaining the best teachers and staff members a priority. Working in Chesterfield schools are 2,025 teachers with master’s degrees, 106 National Board Certified Teachers and 96 employees with doctorates.
  • Chesterfield County students generally continue to outperform their peers across Virginia on Standards of Learning tests, according to results from tests taken in 2012-13. Chesterfield County pass rates exceed the state average on 21 of 34 SOL tests and equal the state average on two tests. Additional Chesterfield County highlights included steady progress in math and a 100 percent pass rate on the geography test. Chesterfield students achieved 3,096 perfect scores on SOL tests taken in 2013-14.
  • Almost 4,400 students graduated in 2014 from Chesterfield County high schools: 60 percent earned advanced diplomas, and 83 percent planned to continue their education. The Class of 2014 earned $24.3 million in scholarships.
  • The percentage of students graduating in four years is rising steadily. In 2013, 90.2 percent of all Chesterfield County Public Schools students graduated from high school in four years. That figure was 89.5 percent in 2012 and 86.8 percent in 2011. Chesterfield County continues to outpace Virginia’s on-time graduation rate of 89.1 percent in 2013.
  • Hundreds of businesses, faith communities and organizations partner with schools, and thousands of individuals volunteer annually. In 2012-13, school supporters volunteered more than 53,000 hours ($1.2 million estimated value).
  • In 2014, Elizabeth Scott Elementary was named a National Title I Distinguished School for closing achievement gaps. Elizabeth Scott is the sixth Chesterfield County elementary school to achieve this national recognition: Bellwood won in 2011, Beulah in 2010, Harrowgate in 2006, Chalkley in 2005 and Bensley in 2002.
  • Seven Chesterfield County schools rank in the top 10 percent of U.S. high schools, according to the 2014 list of America’s Most Challenging High Schools. Only 2,093 of the country’s 22,000 public high schools earned this recognition. More than half of the 13 Richmond-area schools on the list are part of Chesterfield County Public Schools: Midlothian, Cosby, Monacan, James River, Clover Hill, Matoaca and Bird.
  • Tara Brunyansky is Chesterfield’s 2015 Teacher of the Year, as well as the school system’s High School Teacher of the Year. She teaches chemistry at James River High. Chuck Rhode is Chesterfield’s Elementary School Teacher of the Year; he teaches music at Watkins Elementary. Debbie Bailey is Chesterfield’s Middle School Teacher of the Year. She teaches civics and economics at Carver Middle.
  • Dee Castelvecchi of Elizabeth Davis Middle was the nation’s top health teacher in 2013. She is the third teacher in Chesterfield County Public Schools to win the nation’s top award: Bailey Bridge Middle’s Misti Wajciechowski won in 2010 and Carver Middle’s Kay Schiltz won in 2006.

Chesterfield County School Board

Chair Carrie Coyner, Bermuda District
Vice Chair Dianne Smith, Clover Hill District
David Wyman, Dale District
Thomas Doland, Matoaca District
Debra Girvin, Midlothian District


Marcus J. Newsome, Ed.D.

More information

View the full profile. (PDF)

The school division’s website (mychesterfieldschools.com) is full of information. Additional ways to stay current are Facebook (www.facebook.com/chesterfieldschools), Twitter (twitter.com/ccpsinfo) and School Notes digital newsletter (sign up for School Notes by clicking the envelope icon in the top right corner of mychesterfieldschools.com). Look for Chesterfield EdTV on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon Channel 26. The school system’s mailing address is P.O. Box 10, Chesterfield, VA 23832, phone number is 804-748-1405, and email is ccpsinfo@ccpsnet.net.

Chesterfield County Public Schools does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, age, religion, disability or national origin in employment or in its educational programs and activities.