Chesterfield County Public Schools teachers receive W!SE Gold Star Teacher Award

Thirty Chesterfield County Public Schools Personal Finance and Economics teachers received the W!SE Gold Star Teacher Award. To be considered for the Gold Star Teacher Award, a teacher must achieve a 93 percent pass rate in at least one of their classes on either the Fall 2015 or Spring 2016 W!SE Financial Literacy Certification Test.

W!SE’s Financial Literacy Certification Program (FLCP) addresses the urgent need for financial literacy and education. The program provides high school students with access to financial education and the opportunity to become certified financially literate. Participating schools teach personal finance and administer W!SE’s standardized Financial Literacy Certification (CFL) Test. Developed in 2003, the program has expanded nationally and has been widely recognized for its success.

The Chesterfield County Public Schools teachers were 30 of nearly 610 teachers nationwide who received this award. The winning teachers were recognized at the annual MoneyPOWER Conference for Financial Literacy in New York City earlier this month.

The following Chesterfield County Public Schools teachers were recognized with the W!SE Gold Star Award: Bettina Hinckle (CCPS Online); Bryce Lyle (CCPS Online); Janice Skipwith (CCPS Online); Samantha Brunow (CCPS Online); Brice Harrington (Clover Hill High and CCPS Online); Karen Charney (Clover Hill High); Michael Bell (Clover Hill High); Celia Polin (Cosby High);  Christopher Prior (Cosby High); Scott McKeag (Cosby High); Sebrell Bryant (Cosby High); Ashley Walker (James River High);  Jeffrey Bourassa (James River High); Rose Malone (James River High); Anthony Perkins (Bird High); Jacob White (Bird High); Charlie Krausse (Manchester High); Mary Williams (Manchester High); Paul Kline (Manchester High); Evelyn Robinson (Matoaca High); Mary “Kathy” Price (Matoaca High); Daniel Porzio (Meadowbrook High); Bryan Harrison (Midlothian High); Madeleine Smith (Midlothian High); Steve Scherer (Midlothian High); Monica Van Arsdale (Monacan High); Debbie Kidd (Thomas Dale High); Kelly Davis (Thomas Dale High); Patrick Sweet (Thomas Dale High); and Tami Marshall (Thomas Dale High).