Sarah Fraher wins educational leadership award

Sarah Fraher, principal of Manchester Middle School, is the recipient of the 2015 R.E.B. Award for Distinguished Educational Leadership. Bon Air Elementary Principal Bruce Tetlow is this year’s runner-up.

In addition to Sarah Fraher and Bruce Tetlow, these Chesterfield County principals were nominated:

  • Laura Hebert of Bird High
  • Calvin Frye of Swift Creek Middle
  • Don Ashburn of Carver Middle
  • Joshua Cole of Ecoff Elementary
  • Cathy Hines of Clover Hill Elementary
  • Matt Maher of Evergreen Elementary
  • Mary Dunn of Greenfield Elementary
  • Mike Crusco of Enon Elementary
  • Giuliana Brink of Gates Elementary

“Sarah Fraher is an exemplary person who never loses sight of what’s important,” Superintendent Marcus Newsome said. “She is an outstanding educational leader and energized administrator who works to create a school environment where students, teachers and staff members thrive and where parents and community members feel welcome. I commend her, Bruce Tetlow and all of our nominated principals for their exemplary dedication to the students of Chesterfield County Public Schools.”

The R.E.B. Awards for Distinguished Educational Leadership honor central Virginia principals who go beyond day-to-day demands to create an exceptional educational environment. One principal from each local school system (Chesterfield, Henrico, Hanover and Richmond) is honored annually, and each winner receives $7,500 plus $7,500 to use for a school project. The Community Foundation of Richmond and the R.E.B. Foundation oversee the R.E.B. Awards for Distinguished Educational Leadership. Nominations come from members of the school community and the general public.