School Board members to be sworn in Dec. 15

Members of the Chesterfield County School Board will take their oaths of office during an investiture at 4:30 p.m. Dec. 15 in Chesterfield’s 1917 Courthouse, 10011 Iron Bridge Road. The School Board members were elected in November to four-year terms that begin Jan. 1, 2016, and end Dec. 31, 2019.

Superintendent Marcus Newsome will welcome people to the investiture ceremony. The Rev. Shawn Franco of Cornerstone Assembly of God will offer an invocation, then Marguerite Christian Elementary third-grade student Hayden Coyner will lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chesterfield Circuit Court Clerk Wendy Hughes will administer the oath of office for Bermuda representative Carrie Coyner, Clover Hill representative Dianne Smith and Matoaca representative Rob Thompson. U.S. District Judge Henry Hudson of the Eastern District of Virginia will administer the oath of office for Dale representative John Erbach. Midlothian representative Javaid Siddiqi will be sworn in during a separate ceremony.

A reception will follow in the School Administration Building, 9900 Krause Road.