Chesterfield School Board elects leaders and sets 2021 meeting dates

Posted on

Matoaca District representative Ryan Harter was elected chair of the Chesterfield County School Board during the board’s annual reorganization meeting. Ann Coker, who represents the Bermuda District, was selected vice chair for 2021.

In addition, the School Board approved its 2021 schedule during the meeting. The other School Board members are Debbie Bailey (Dale District), Dot Heffron (Clover Hill District) and Kathryn Haines (Midlothian District).

“Our No. 1 priority is to ensure we are giving our students the best education possible,” Harter said after being selected chair.

During last night’s meeting, Harter acknowledged the School Board’s two main areas of focus are to provide a safe option to return children to face-to-face instruction and to follow through with the recommendations of the teacher pay study and fairly compensate Chesterfield County teachers.

“No one could have predicted the challenges our community faced and the challenges presented to our schools,” Harter said. “We will get through this by collaborating and supporting each other, not by division.”

The approved 2021 School Board meeting dates are:

  • The School Board will hold a work session at 4 p.m. and a business meeting at 6:30 p.m. on Feb. 9, March 9, April 13, May 11, June 8, Sept. 14, Oct. 12, Nov. 9 and Dec. 14 in the Public Meeting Room (10001 Iron Bridge Road). A business meeting will be held Aug.
  • The School Board will hold a budget work session at 4 p.m. in the Public Meeting Room on these dates: Jan. 26, Feb. 2, Feb. 9, and Feb.
  • The School Board will hold a special board meeting to vote on the FY2022 budget at 6:30 p.m. Feb. 25 in the Public Meeting Room.
  • The School Board will hold its annual retreat on Aug. 10 prior to its regularly scheduled business

The adopted calendar is available online at

The School Board encourages public participation at meetings. Details regarding the policy for specific procedures by which the public may speak before the School Board are available online at

Skip to content