Crestwood Elementary achieves national recognition

Posted on

Crestwood Elementary School has been selected as a National ESEA Distinguished School. Each year, only two schools per state receive this prestigious designation. Chesterfield County Public Schools leaders announced the school’s award to students and staff members today during an outdoor assembly.

To be eligible for the National ESEA Distinguished School award, a school must meet these three criteria:

  • a poverty rate of at least 35% for the two most current consecutive school years
  • demonstrated exceptional academic achievement for two or more of the most current consecutive school years
  • met full state accreditation for two or more consecutive years

There are three categories a school may be nominated under:

  • Category 1: exceptional student performance for two consecutive years
  • Category 2: closing the achievement gap between student groups
  • Category 3: excellence in serving special populations of students

Crestwood was recognized in category 3 for excellence in serving English learners. School Board member Kathryn Haines, who represents the Midlothian district, said,

“Congratulations to Crestwood Elementary: a school that consistently goes above and beyond to ensure that students succeed. Since 2012, the school has worked to redesign approaches to planning, staff development and instruction as part of a detailed school improvement plan and that work is definitely making a difference.”

Dr. Merv Daugherty, superintendent of Chesterfield County Public Schools, said, “Crestwood Elementary exemplifies what we mean when we say ‘all means all.’ Public education is for all students, and teachers throughout our school system work hard to make sure every student succeeds. Teaching and learning are not easy, but they are vital to our community, and we celebrate Crestwood’s commitment and success.”

Crestwood is the eighth Chesterfield County elementary school to achieve this national recognition, which previously was named the National Title I Distinguished School Award: Ettrick won in 2018, Elizabeth Scott in 2013, Bellwood in 2011, Beulah in 2010, Harrowgate in 2006, Chalkley in 2005 and Bensley in 2002.

More information about the National ESEA Distinguished School designation is available here:

Skip to content