en English

Meadowbrook High School

Chesterfield County Public Schools

WORLD LANGUAGES

The World Languages Department supports the mission of Chesterfield County Public School and Meadowbrook High School. Our department recognizes the importance and academic benefits that come with learning a second language. The ability to communicate in another language is a desirable, if not essential, goal for all students. Guided by a Project-Based Learning approach to instruction, the department supports the acquisition of a foreign language as a life skill for all students. Embedded in our World Language curricula are lessons that teach students to:

  • Express ideas in both verbal and written modes
  • Demonstrate an awareness and appreciation of language, culture, media, and the arts using all four target areas: listening, speaking, reading, and writing
  • Immerse in a variety of resources and use of technologies
  • Recognize different perspectives and acknowledge individual’s rights to opinion

Course offerings: 

Spanish  French  Japanese 
  • Spanish 1-7
  • Heritage Spanish 1-3
  • AP Spanish Language and Culture
  • IB Spanish 
  • French 1
  • French 2
  • French 3
  • French 4
  • IB French 
  • Japanese 1
  • Japanese 2
  • Japanese 3

 

Instructors: 

Señora Georgina Street
Department Leader 
Email: Georgina_Street@ccpsnet.net
Language taught: Spanish 
Señora Claudia Baird Email: Claudia_Baird@ccpsnet.net
Langauge taught: Spanish
Señora Janet Conner Email: Janet_Conner@ccpsnet.net
Langauge taught: Spanish 
Maestre Lydia Crush Email: Lydia_Crush@ccpsnet.net
Language taught: Spanish 
Señor Marios Demtriou Language taught: Spanish 
Señor Jake Rhoads Language taught: Spanish 
Señor Adam Taveras Email: Adam_Taveras@ccpsnet.net
Language taught: Spanish 
Madame Melissa Lee Email: Melissa_Lee@ccpsnet.net
Language taught: French 
Madame Sarah Wendt Email: Sarah_Wendt@ccpsnet.net
Language taught: French 
San Tsugumi Fukuma Email: tsugumi_fukuma@ccpsnet.net
Language taught: French