Newly elected School Board will take office beginning Jan. 1

Posted on

Newly elected members to the Chesterfield County School Board took their oaths of office this week during an investiture ceremony held at Chesterfield County’s historic 1917 Courthouse. The incoming School Board members were elected in November 2019 to four-year terms that begin Jan. 1, 2020, and end Dec. 31, 2023.

  • Ann Coker, Bermuda District representative-elect, is employed by ITAC, located in the Bermuda District, and has been with the company for the past 20 years. A graduate of Chesterfield County Public Schools, she currently holds the position of the Director of Project Accounting and Processes. Mrs. Coker has served as the president and vice president of Enon Elementary’s PTO and has supported and led many committees.
  • Dot Heffron, Clover Hill District representative-elect, brings to the board  her experience as a classroom teacher, having taught English at Providence Middle, and her perspective as a parent and community member. A graduate of Chesterfield County Public Schools who previously served as chair of the School Board’s Special Education Advisory Committee, Mrs. Heffron enjoys volunteering in her children’s schools and participating in community service with her family through her faith community.
  • Debbie Bailey, Dale District representative-elect, retired from Chesterfield County Public Schools in June 2019 after 34 years as a social studies teacher, having taught for 25 years at Chester Middle and for nine years at Carver Middle. A graduate of Chesterfield County Public Schools, her accolades include being named the 2015 Chesterfield County Middle School Teacher of the Year and being awarded the prestigious R.E.B. Award for teaching excellence in 2014. 
  • Ryan Harter, Matoaca District representative-elect, is a United States Air Force veteran who served for 13 years as a military police officer and team leader in Kandahar, Afghanistan during Operation Enduring Freedom.  After leaving active duty service, he became a civics and economics teacher, educating students in the Prince George and Chesterfield County school systems.
  • Kathryn Haines, Midlothian District representative-elect, began her career as a consultant with the City of Chicago.  Since she arrived in Chesterfield County, Mrs. Haines has been actively involved and on the board in PTAs/PTOs at the elementary, middle and high school levels. She has organized neighbors to advocate to change policy for both English as a Second Language students and special education students and for more trauma-informed training. Mrs. Haines is a member of the school division’s Equity Committee and previously served in the Peace Corps. 


“I want to congratulate each of these newly elected school board members,” Superintendent Dr. Merv Daugherty said. “I look forward to seeing how their experiences, fresh perspectives and diverse backgrounds will help create more amazing learning experiences for our students.” 

Skip to content