School Board

Ryan M. Harter

Ryan M. Harter - Chair - Matoaca

Elected to the Chesterfield County School Board in November 2019, Mr. Ryan Harter represents the Matoaca District.

Mr. Harter is a United States Air Force Veteran who served for 13 years as a military police officer and team leader in Kandahar, Afghanistan during Operation Enduring Freedom.  After leaving active duty service, he became a civics and economics teacher, educating students in the Prince George and Chesterfield County school systems.

Mr. Harter earned a master’s degree in educational leadership from Ashford University, a bachelor’s degree in organizational management from Ashford University, an associate’s degree in instructional technology from The Community College of the Air Force, and an associate’s degree in criminal justice from The Community College of the Air Force.

Mr. Harter is a member of American Legion Post 186 and is the at-large representative for the Camp Baker Management Board. He and his family are also active members of Clover Hill Assembly of God Church.

Mr. Harter and his wife, Megan, have four children who attend Chesterfield County Public Schools.

Ann C. Coker

Ann C. Coker - Vice Chair - Bermuda

Elected to the Chesterfield County School Board in November 2019, Mrs. Ann Coker represents the Bermuda District.

Mrs. Coker is employed by ITAC, located in the Bermuda District, and has been with the company for the past 20 years. She currently holds the position of the Director of Project Accounting and Processes.

Mrs. Coker earned a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and Psychology from Longwood University, where she received Summa Cum Laude honors. She is a product of the Chesterfield County school system (Enon Elementary, Chester Middle and Thomas Dale High) and has been a long-time resident of the Bermuda District.

Mrs. Coker has served as the president and vice president of Enon Elementary’s PTO and has supported and led many committees. In addition, she has been active in the Boy Scouts of America, most recently serving as Treasurer of Cub Scout Pack 922. She is an active member at her local church in the Bermuda District, serving as lay reader. 

She and her husband, Jason, have four children who attend all three levels of Chesterfield County Public Schools.

Dorothy L. Heffron

Dorothy L. Heffron - Clover Hill

Elected to the Chesterfield County School Board in November 2019, Mrs. Dot Heffron represents the Clover Hill District.

Mrs. Heffron brings to the board  her experience as a classroom teacher, having taught English at Providence Middle, and her perspective as a parent and community member.

Mrs. Heffron’s connection to Chesterfield County runs deep. She was raised in the Clover Hill District, is a graduate of Chesterfield County Public Schools and currently has three children enrolled in the school division — all of whom attend the same schools she did. Mrs. Heffron attended Virginia Commonwealth University, where she earned her undergraduate degree in history and political science.

Having previously served as chair of the School Board’s Special Education Advisory Committee, Mrs. Heffron enjoys volunteering in her children’s schools and participating in community service with her family through her faith community.

She lives with her husband of 19 years, Richard, and their three children in North Chesterfield.

Debbie G. Bailey

Debbie G. Bailey - Dale

Elected to the Chesterfield County School Board in November 2019, Mrs. Debbie Bailey represents the Dale District.

Mrs. Bailey retired from Chesterfield County Public Schools in June of 2019 after 34 years as a social studies teacher, having taught for 25 years at Chester Middle and for nine years at Carver Middle. Her accolades include being named the 2015 Chesterfield County Middle School Teacher of the Year and being awarded the prestigious R.E.B. Award for teaching excellence in 2014. 

Mrs. Bailey holds a Bachelor of Science degree with endorsements in history, social science and education from Virginia Commonwealth University.  

She has served as department chair, team leader, and on countless committees, and she has presented at local, state, and national conferences on topics related to the education of children.  

Mrs. Bailey and her husband, Chuck, have two children, Sarah and Jake. Both children graduated from Matoaca High School.

Kathryn S. Haines

Kathryn S. Haines - Midlothian

Elected to the Chesterfield County School Board in November 2019, Mrs. Kathryn Haines represents the Midlothian District.

Mrs. Haines began her career as an intern and then consultant with the City of Chicago. She left her job with the city to work at the grassroots level as a community consultant for the Jewish Council on Urban Affairs (JCUA). At JCUA, she used her planning skills to provide technical assistance with the goal of building the capacity of grass-roots organizations in Chicago. After the birth of her first child, Mrs. Haines obtained certification as a prenatal yoga teacher, doula, and then as a Certified Professional Midwife (CPM). She was recruited to join a rural midwifery practice in West Virginia, where she practiced for two years. As a midwife, Mrs. Haines sat on midwifery boards and worked on legislative efforts in both Maryland and West Virginia.

Mrs. Haines holds a bachelor’s degree in French language from Wake Forest University and a master’s degree in Urban Planning and Policy from the University of Illinois at Chicago. 

Her commitment to service and community brought her back to Virginia, the place where her dad — a veteran — was last stationed. Her advocacy and volunteer work in public schools began in 2006 in D.C., the spring before her eldest entered a public PreK-3 program. Since she arrived in Chesterfield, Mrs. Haines has been actively involved and on the board in PTAs/PTOs at the elementary, middle and high school levels. She has organized neighbors to advocate to change policy for both English as a Second Language students and special education students and for more trauma-informed training. Mrs. Haines is a member of the school division’s Equity Committee and previously served in the Peace Corps.

Mrs. Haines and her husband, Matt, have four children in Chesterfield County Public Schools.