School Safety Task Force

The Chesterfield County School Board created a School Safety Task Force to evaluate current protocols and best practices that ensure the school division is providing a safe, supportive and nurturing learning environment for all students, staff and administrators. Prior to the recent tragedy in Florida, two Chesterfield School Board members, Midlothian representative Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, former Virginia Secretary of Education, and Clover Hill representative Dianne Smith, a gubernatorial appointee in 2013 to the governor’s School Safety Task Force, were actively looking into the creation of a task force.

The task force is co-chaired by Virginia Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian Moran and former Virginia Secretary of Education Laura Fornash, both residents of Chesterfield County and parents of students at Chesterfield County Public Schools.

This task force will examine critical issues surrounding education and safety, with four main topics established:

  1. Partnership between Chesterfield Schools and Chesterfield Police
  2. School Safety
  3. Student Conduct and Student Discipline
  4. Student Support Services

The School Board accepted applications from community members to serve on the School Safety Task Force and Working Groups. Members were appointed from each of the county’s five magisterial districts and include parents, teachers, staff members, students and other community members.

For more information, contact [email protected].

Skip to content