Thompson selected as School Board chair; Siddiqi chosen as vice chair

Posted on

The Chesterfield County School Board selected a new chair and vice chair Tuesday, Jan. 8, during its first meeting of the year. Matoaca District representative Rob Thompson was chosen by his colleagues to serve as chair. Midlothian District representative Dr. Javaid Siddiqi was selected vice chair.

“I appreciate the confidence my colleagues have shown in me to lead this Board during the coming year,” Thompson said. “During our first three years, this School Board has been faced with difficult choices at times. However, we have always stayed focused on what is best for students and effective operations. I look forward to leading the Board as we finish out the final year of our four-year term and continue our efforts to make Chesterfield County Public Schools one of the premiere school divisions in the country.”

Thompson served for 20 years in the United States Navy, retiring as a naval intelligence officer in 2005. After retiring, he started a Department of Defense contracting company serving the needs of the national intelligence community. He continues to work at the Pentagon as a liaison between the Navy and the National Reconnaissance Office, ensuring that the Navy’s needs are captured in space-based requirements. Thompson earned a bachelor’s degree in vocational education from Southern Illinois University, a bachelor’s degree in electronics technology from Norfolk State University and a master’s degree in systems technology specializing in scientific and technical intelligence from the Naval Postgraduate School.

Siddiqi previously served as chair of the School Board in 2017. Is a former Secretary of Education in Gov. Bob McDonnell’s Cabinet and began his education profession as a high school teacher, assistant principal, and as a principal in Chesterfield. He currently is the chief executive officer of The Hunt Institute, an affiliate of Duke University Sanford School of Public Policy. Most recently, he served as the Director of the Hunt-Kean Leadership Fellows which partners with senior-level political leaders who have the knowledge, skill, and will to be effective, reform-minded education policymakers at the state level.

The other Chesterfield County School Board members are Carrie Coyner (Bermuda District), Dianne Smith (Clover Hill District) and John Erbach (Dale District). All School Board members were elected in November 2015 to serve four-year terms that end Dec. 31, 2019.

Skip to content